The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital

Dr Susan Christo

Dr Susan Christo

03 8344 5690 |

Senior Research Officer
Discovery Research
The University of Melbourne, Department of Microbiology and Immunology (DMI)
Lab Group(s):
Laura Mackay Group

Dr Susan Christo obtained her PhD at the University of South Australia in 2015 before joining the laboratory of Professor Laura Mackay at the Doherty Institute in 2016. Susan has an interest in T cell biology and is currently working on identifying key factors that regulate the phenotype, differentiation and survival of tissue-resident memory T cell in a range of settings such as cancer. Susan’s work hopes to instruct the design of T cell based immunotherapies aimed at long-term protection in a site-specific manner.

  • Publications
    Loading ORCID data…
    Research Groups
    • Laura Mackay Group

      The Mackay Lab studies memory T cell responses, with a focus on the signals that control tissue-resident memory T cell differentiation, and a view to harness these cells to develop new treatments against infection, cancer and autoimmune conditions.

      Lab Team

      Laura Mackay Group

      • Laboratory Head, Theme Leader in Immunology
      • Senior Research Officer
      • Dr Ali Zaid
        Senior Research Officer
      • Dr Thomas Burn
        Research Officer
      • ARC DECRA Research Fellow
      • Dr Raissa Fonseca
        ARC DECRA Research Fellow
      • Senior Research Fellow
      • Dr Josh (Hyun Jae) Lee
        Research Officer
      • Dr Kelly Paton
        Research Officer
      • Dr Tobias Poch
        DFG Walter Benjamin Programme Fellow
      • Dr Natasha Zamudio
        Laboratory Manager
      • Dr Pirooz Zareie
        ARC DECRA Research Fellow
      • Honorary Research Fellow
      • Keely McDonald
        Research Assistant
      • Allison Clatch
        PhD Candidate
      • James Dosser
        PhD Candidate
      • Rachel Evans
        PhD Candidate
      • Louis Hua-Yi Lee
        PhD Candidate
      • Andreas Obers
        PhD Candidate
      • Maleika Osman
        PhD Candidate
      • Justine Seow
        PhD Candidate
      • Hongjin Lai
        PhD Candidate (Visiting Scholar)
      • Joey Kuai
        Masters Student
      • Chloe Low
        Honours Student

Full University of Melbourne profile