The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


Dr Vanessa Evans

Dr Vanessa Evans

Dr Vanessa Evans

(03) 8344 3838 | [email protected]

Post-doctoral Researcher
Host Pathogens Interactions , Immunology, Viral Infectious Diseases, HIV
Translational and Clinical Research
Doherty Department
Lab Group(s):
Lewin Group

Dr Vanessa Evans is a postdoctoral researcher and head of the Dendritic Cell (DC)/ Immunomodulation group within the laboratory of Professor Sharon Lewin and Associate Professor Paul Cameron. She was awarded her PhD at Monash University in 2011 on ‘DC and T cell interactions: Their role in HIV-1 spread and latency. Vanessa has collaborated with a number of groups, which has included spending time within the laboratories of Professor Rafick Sékaly, at the University of Montreal and at the Vaccine and Gene Therapy Institute (VGTI), Florida. 

  • Key Achievements
    • Vanessa has presented her work extensively both nationally and internationally, resulting in a number of scholarships and awards. She has extensive experience in a wide range of techniques including primary cell isolation of dendritic cell populations, flow cytometry, and HIV production and infection. Her PhD led to several novel findings including the mechanism of how some strains of HIV infect the thymus via transfer of the virus from thymic DC, and the development of a novel, laboratory-based model demonstrating a role for DC in the establishment of HIV latency. 

    Loading ORCID data...
    Research Groups
    • Lewin Group

      The main focus of the Lewin group is to understand why HIV infection persists on antiretroviral therapy, to develop new strategies to eliminate latency and to define the biological determinants of immune reconstitution and factors that drive liver disease in HIV-hepatitis B virus co-infection.

      Lab Team

      Lewin Group

      • Dr Jasminka Sterjovski
        Research Manager
      • Dr Jennifer Audsley
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Jenny Anderson
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Vanessa Evans
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Jori Symons
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Jennifer Zerbarto
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Ajantha Rhodes
        Lab Manager
      • Surekha Tennakoon
        Research Officer
      • Ashanti Dantanarayana
        Research Assistant
      • Dr Kasha Singh
        PhD student
      • Dr Matthew Pitman
        PhD student
      • Youry Kim
        PhD student
      • Zuwena Richardson
        PhD student
      • Haoming Liu
        PhD Student
      • Rachel Pascoe
        PhD Student
      • Jared Stern
        PhD Student
      • Wei Zhao
        Research Fellow
      • Socheata Chea
        Clinical Research Support and Systems Administrator
      • Carolin Tumpach
        Research Support Officer

Full University of Melbourne profile