The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


Dr Jori Symons

Dr Jori Symons

Dr Jori Symons

- | [email protected]

Postdoctoral researcher
Viral Infectious Diseases, HIV
Doherty Department
Lab Group(s):
Lewin/Cameron Group

Dr Jori Symons is a postdoctoral Research Fellow in Professor Sharon Lewin’s and Associate Professor Paul Cameron’s laboratory. Jori obtained his PhD from Utrecht University in the Netherlands in the laboratory of Dr Monique Nijhuis and Dr Anne Wensing at the University Medical Centre Utrecht in 2014. In 2015, Jori joined the Lewin/Cameron laboratory to investigate HIV integration sites.

  • Key Achievements
    • Jori has been published in several peer reviewed international journals as a first and co-author. He has presented at multiple conferences and won two young investigator awards at the Conference on Retroviruses and Opportunistic Infections.

    Research Groups
    • Lewin/Cameron Group

      The main focus of the Lewin-Cameron laboratory is to understand why HIV infection persists on antiretroviral therapy, to develop new strategies to eliminate latency and to define the biological determinants of immune reconstitution and factors that drive liver disease in HIV-hepatitis B virus co-infection.

      Lab Team

      Lewin/Cameron Group

      • Associate Professor Paul Cameron
        Joint Lab head
      • Dr Jasminka Sterjovski
        Research Manager
      • Julia Stout
        Project Manager
      • Dr Jennifer Audsley
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Jenny Anderson
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Vanessa Evans
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Renee van de Sluis
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Jori Symons
        Post-doctoral Research Fellow
      • Dr Michael Roche
        Post-doctoral Fellow
      • Ajantha Rhodes
        Lab Manager
      • Surekha Tennakoon
        Research Officer
      • Ashanti Dantanarayana
        Research Assistant
      • Simin Rezaei
        PhD student
      • Dr Kasha Singh
        PhD student
      • Talia Mota
        PhD student
      • Dr Michelle Yong
        PhD student
      • Dr Matthew Pitman
        PhD student
      • Youry Kim
        PhD student
      • Zuwena Richardson
        PhD student
      • Ashish Nair
        Casual RA
      • Haoming Liu
      • Wei Zhao
        Research Fellow
      • Jared Stern
        Honours Student

Full University of Melbourne profile