The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital

Dr Jennifer Juno

Dr Jennifer Juno is a T cell immunologist with a particular interest in antiviral immunity and vaccination. Her group focuses on the role of T follicular helper cells in regulating immune responses to vaccination, as well as understanding the role of unconventional T cells in protective immunity from chronic diseases. Originally from Canada, she was awarded her PhD in 2014 from the University of Manitoba, where she studied iNKT cell dysfunction during HIV infection. Following a two year Postdoctoral Fellowship at the Public Health Agency of Canada, she moved to Melbourne to join the Peter Doherty Institute for Infection and Immunity. Jennifer now leads a dynamic team of PhD students, research assistants and junior postdoctoral researchers.

  • Key Achievements
    • Jennifer is a Dame Kate Campbell Fellow and NHMRC Emerging Leadership (EL2) Investigator. She has received national and international grants to study immune responses to HIV, TB, influenza and SARS-CoV-2. Jennifer has published a number of papers in top-tier journals, including Nature Immunology, Immunity, Science Translational Medicine and Nature Communications.

    Loading ORCID data…
    Research Groups
    • Kent Group

      Stephen’s group studies immunity to HIV, influenza and SARS-CoV-2. They are analysing a variety of vaccine strategies, including nanoparticle-based vaccines. They are studying a series of immune responses to gain better insights into protective immunity to important viral pathogens. They are developing monoclonal antibody therapies for HIV, influenza and SARS-CoV-2 to improve the treatment of these infections. The Kent group works very closely with Dr Amy Chung’s laboratory at the Doherty Institute.

      Lab Team

      Kent Group

      • Dr Adam Wheatley
        Group Leader | Postdoctoral Fellow
      • Laboratory Head
      • Emily Pilkington
        Postdoctoral Fellow
      • Hyon-Xhi Tan
        Postdoctoral Fellow
      • Jacob Coffey
        Postdoctoral Fellow
      • Research Fellow
      • Wen Shi Lee
        Postdoctoral Fellow
      • Andrew Kelly
        Research Assistant
      • Grace Gare
        Research Assistant
      • Julie Nguyen
        Research Assistant
      • Robyn Esterbauer
        Research Assistant
      • Thakshila Amarasena
        Research Support Officer
      • Jane Batten
        Project Manager
      • Janavi Rambhatla
        Senior Project Officer
      • Devaki Pilapitiya
        PhD Student
      • Ebene Haycroft
        Masters Student (co-supervisor with Amy Chung)
      • Isaac Barber-Axthelm
        PhD Student
      • Kirsty Field
        PhD Student
      • Mai Ngoc Vu
        PhD Student
      • Samantha Davis
        PhD Student (co-supervisor with Amy Chung)
      • Thu Do
        PhD Student
      • Lauren Burmas
        Honours Student
      • Meghan Conlan
        Honours Student
      • Professor David O'Connor
      • Dr David (Yi) Ju
      • Dr Hillary Vanderven
      • A/Prof Matt Parsons
      • Dr Nghia Truong