The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


25 May 2023

Sharon Lewin elected Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science

University of Melbourne Laureate Professor Sharon Lewin, Director of the Doherty Institute, has been elected as a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science. 

Announced on Thursday, 25 May 2023, the prestigious honour was also conferred on 19 other researchers and scientists recognised for their outstanding contributions to science.  

Professor Lewin said she was proud to join the Academy as a Fellow and reflected on the importance of science to society.  

“I am incredibly proud and excited to be announced as a Fellow joining other inspiring Fellows who have made a tangible difference in the understanding and support for science,” said Professor Lewin.  

“Science is fundamental to us as a society. Understanding how the world works is key to our survival and ability to advance.  

“My own scientific career has been in medical research, and science is what drives our advances in medicine - it gives us new treatments, new vaccines, new technical devices. Many transformational changes in health that we enjoy today started with a blue sky idea within fundamental science.”  

President of the Australian Academy of Science Professor Chennupati Jagadish AC congratulated the new Fellows for their exceptional work advancing knowledge in their fields of research. 

“Fellows of the Australian Academy of Science are among the nation’s most distinguished scientists, elected by their peers for ground-breaking research and contributions that have had clear impact,” Professor Jagadish said. 

“There is no greater professional honour than being recognised by your own peers and the leaders within your own field of research for your achievements. 

“This year’s new Fellows come from countries including Germany, China, India and Italy and all now call Australia home.”   

The Academy’s new Fellows elected in 2023 are:  

  • Professor Sharon Lewin AO FAA FAAHMS, Infectious Diseases Physician and Virologist, University of Melbourne, Doherty Institute 

  • Professor Timothy Brodribb FAA, Plant Evolutionary Physiologist, University of Tasmania 

  • Professor Liming Dai FAA, Materials Scientist, UNSW Sydney 

  • Professor Mariapia Degli-Esposti FAA, Immunologist, Monash University 

  • Professor Michael Fuhrer FAA, Materials Physicist, Monash University 

  • Professor Zaiping Guo FAA, Materials Scientist, University of Adelaide 

  • Professor Elaine Holmes FAA, Computational Biologist, Murdoch University 

  • Professor David Keith FAA, Ecologist and Conservation Biologist, UNSW Sydney 

  • Professor David Komander FAA, Biochemist and Structural Biologist, Walter and Eliza Hall Institute of Medical Research 

  • Professor Jian Li FAA, Antimicrobial Pharmacologist, Monash University 

  • Distinguished Professor Belinda Medlyn FAA, Ecologist, Western Sydney University 

  • Professor Louis-Noël Moresi FAA, Computational Geophysicist, Australian National University 

  • Professor Richard James Payne FAA, Chemical Biologist, University of Sydney 

  • Professor Shizhang Qiao FAA, Materials Scientist, University of Adelaide 

  • Professor Pankaj Sah FAA FAHMS Neuroscientist, Queensland Brain Institute 

  • Distinguished Professor Brajesh Singh FAA, Soil Ecologist, Western Sydney University 

  • Professor Peter Taylor FAA, Applied Mathematician, University of Melbourne 

  • Professor Leslie Weston FAA, Plant Biologist and Biochemist, Charles Sturt University 

  • Professor Andrew Wilks FAA FTSE FAHMS, Molecular Biologist, SYNthesis Pharm 

  • Distinguished Professor Xinghuo Yu FAA, Electrical Engineer, RMIT University 

Established nearly 70 years ago, the Australian Academy of Science is a Fellowship of more than 520 of the nation's top scientists who live and work in Australia and around the world. The Academy provides independent, authoritative and influential scientific advice, promotes international scientific engagement, builds public awareness and understanding of science, and champions, celebrates and supports excellence in Australian science.