The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital


25 Oct 2021

Setting it Straight: The second Nobel year in the time of COVID-19: Physics

On Tuesday, 5 October, the 2021 Nobel Laureates for Physics were named by Göran Hansson, Secretary General of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences (RSAS). The next day, Goran Hansson announced the decision for Chemistry, then Economics on the following Monday. These three awards are selected by separate committees of the RSAS. The case for giving a Nobel Prize to the chosen candidates is then reviewed by ‘classes’ of RSAS members in the different disciplines, with the final approval depending on a vote by members of the full body of the RSAS who attend on the morning that the particular award is announced.