The Univeristy of Melbourne The Royal Melbourne Hopspital

A joint venture between The University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital

About | Governance

The Doherty Council

The Doherty Institute is governed by the Doherty Council, which comprises of senior level executives from the University of Melbourne and The Royal Melbourne Hospital and the Director of the Institute.

The Doherty Council

Professor Sharon Lewin - Director

Leading infectious diseases expert Professor Sharon Lewin is the inaugural Director of the Doherty Institute. Sharon is also a Professor of Medicine at the University of Melbourne and a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Practitioner Fellow. As an infectious diseases physician and basic scientist, her laboratory focuses on basic, translational and clinical research aimed at finding a cure for HIV and understanding the interaction between HIV and hepatitis B virus. She has published over 260 publications and is funded by the NHMRC, the National Institutes of Health, The Wellcome Trust, the American Foundation for AIDS Research and multiple commercial partnerships. Sharon was local co-chair for the International AIDS Conference held in Melbourne in 2014. She is chair of the Ministerial Advisory Committee for Blood Borne Viruses and Sexually Transmitted Infections, the peak advisory committee to the Federal Minister for Health; a member of the NHMRC Council; an elected member of the Governing Council of the International AIDS Society representing the Asia-Pacific region; and was a foundation council member of the Australian Academy for Health and Medical Research. She was named Melburnian of the Year in 2014, and in 2015, was awarded the Peter Wills Medal by Research Australia.

Sharon Lewin

Professor Shitij Kapur – Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences, University of Melbourne

Professor Shitij Kapur’s main research interest is in understanding Schizophrenia and its treatment. He has used brain imaging, animals models and clinical studies which have led to a better understanding of antipsychotic action, its relationship to brain dopamine receptor blockade, the role of appropriate dosing of these drugs and has led to the development of the ‘salience’ framework of psychosis and the ‘early onset’ hypothesis if antipsychotic action. Shitij has published 300 peer-reviewed papers, his work has received over 25,000 citations as he has made numerous presentations worldwide. He serves in advisory capacity to public charities and pharmaceutical companies and has received national and international awards including the AE Bennett Award of the Society for Biological Psychiatry, Paul Janssen Award of the CINP. He is a Distinguished Fellow of the American Psychiatric Association and the Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences, UK, and Fellow of King’s College London, UK. He led NEWMEDS, an EU-wide Innovative Medicines Initiative and currently leads STRATA, a UK-wide program to enhance stratified medicine strategies in psychiatry.

Shitij Kapur

Professor James McCluskey – Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), University of Melbourne

Professor James McCluskey is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) at the University of Melbourne, appointed in March 2011 and led the development of the Doherty Institute. Prior to this he was the Pro Vice-Chancellor, Research Partnerships and Chair of Microbiology and Immunology. 
James trained in Perth as a physician and pathologist. He spent four years at the National Institutes of Health in the USA. On returning to Australia in 1987 he worked at Monash University until 1991 before joining Flinders University and the Australian Red Cross Blood Service.
 James joined the University of Melbourne in 1997 and has an international reputation for his research in basic and clinical immunology and is recognised for his leadership in the field of human leukocyte antigens (HLA) and the major histocompatibility complex (MHC). He has consulted for the Australian Red Cross for more than 20 years and is Editor-in-Chief of the international immunogenetics journal, Tissue Antigens. He is on the Board of Directors of the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute, Florey Neuroscience Institutes, Bionics Institute and is Chair of the Nossal Institute Council and the Board of Nossal Institute Limited.

James McCluskey

Professor Fabienne Mackay - Head of the School of Biomedical Sciences and Head of the BAFF Laboratory, University of Melbourne

Professor Fabienne Mackay obtained her PhD from Louis Pasteur University in Strasbourg, France. In 1994, she joined BiogenIdec Inc in Boston where she developed inhibitors of TNF ligands and characterised the factor BAFF.  In 2000, Fabienne joined the Garvan Institute, Sydney as a Wellcome Trust Senior Research Fellow with a National Health and Medical Research Council (NHMRC) Program Grant and as Director of the Autoimmunity Research Unit. In 2009, Fabienne was appointed Chair and Head, Department of Immunology, Monash University and awarded a NHMRC Research Fellowship in 2014. In 2015, she joined the University of Melbourne as inaugural Head, School of Biomedical Sciences in the Faculty of Medicine, Dentistry and Health Sciences and Head, BAFF laboratory, Department of Microbiology and Immunology.

Professor Christine Kilpatrick – Chief Executive, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Professor Christine Kilpatrick commenced as Chief Executive, Melbourne Health in May 2017. Previous appointments include Chief Executive, The Royal Children’s Hospital  from 2008 – 2017, Executive Director Medical Services, Melbourne Health and Executive Director Royal Melbourne Hospital, Melbourne Health. Prior to these appointments she was a neurologist, specialising in epilepsy.

Christine has held several external appointments including Chair Victorian Quality Council in Healthcare and Member of the Women’s and Children’s Health Board. She was awarded a Centenary medal in 2003 and in 2014 was included in the Victorian Honour Roll of Women.

Christine Kilpatrick

Dr Cate Kelly - Chief Medical Officer, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Cate was appointed as Chief Medical Officer, Melbourne Health in February 2016 and has significant experience in multiple academic, tertiary health services.

Cate received her basic medical degree from the University of Sydney. She also holds a Bachelor of Science (Hons - Pharmacology), a Masters of Health Administration and a Fellowship of the Royal Australasian College of Medical Administrators. Her long term interests are in clinical informatics, clinical governance of new technologies and medical education. She has published multiple papers about health system management and leadership with a focus on medical education and new technology / clinical practice.

Cate Kelly

Professor Jo Douglass – Divisional Director, Neurosciences, Pathology and Infection Medicine, and Head of the Department of Clinical Immunology and Allergy, Royal Melbourne Hospital

Professor Jo Douglass is a specialist physician who is currently Head of the Department of Clinical Immunology and Allergy at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and also Divisional Director, Neurosciences, Pathology and Infection Medicine.  She is an Honorary Clinical Professor at the University of Melbourne and Research Associate at the Walter and Eliza Hall Institute. 

She trained in medicine at Monash University, and undertook physician training in Respiratory Medicine and Allergy, gaining her FRACP in 1992.  She has a doctorate in immunological research continues to have current research projects and funding in severe asthma and immune deficiencies, with a particular focus in Thunderstorm Asthma.  She is a past President of the Australasian Society of Clinical Immunology and Allergy, a Fellow of the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand and an advisor to the Department of Health and Human Services on Anaphylaxis and Thunderstorm Asthma. 

Jo Douglass